10 Apr How Much Is a Cell Phone Ticket in California?
If you live in the Sacramento area, you should know California’s driving laws regarding cell phones. There are three important laws to be aware of. If you disobey these laws, you can get a cell phone ticket. More importantly, disobeying these laws can be dangerous and may result in a car accident.
The penalties you face will vary, depending on the offense you’re charged with. If you want to fight your ticket, you can go to traffic court and explain yourself. A Sacramento traffic ticket lawyer from Crowell Law Offices can assess your situation and negotiate on your behalf to get your charges reduced or dismissed.
Laws against Cell Phones While Driving in California
California outlaws handheld cellphones while driving. The only time you’re allowed to use a handheld cellphone while driving in California is to make an emergency call to a law enforcement agency or to call a medical provider, the fire department, or another emergency service agency. Authorized emergency vehicle drivers and those operating vehicles on private property can also use handheld cell phones.
If you’re under the age of eighteen, you aren’t allowed to use even hands-free cellphones while driving unless you’re in an emergency situation. Drivers over the age of eighteen can use hands-free cellphones in the form of Bluetooth headsets (as long as one ear is free) and speakerphone.
California law also prohibits texting while driving for all drivers in the state. Texting and driving is only allowed for emergency service professionals operating authorized emergency vehicles, drivers who are turning on or off a GPS, and drivers who are using a manufacturer-installed system in the vehicle.
Cell Phone Ticket Prices in California
A first-time cell phone ticket fine is typically $20,with subsequent offenses resulting in $50 fines; however, once assessments are added, a first-time offense can exceed $150 and subsequent offenses can exceed $250. Starting on July 1, 2021, a cell phone driving violation will result in one point on your driving record if you receive the violation within thirty-six months of a previous distracted driving offense.
How to Fight a Cell Phone Ticket
A traffic ticket lawyer in Sacramento can help you fight your cell phone ticket in court. You can plead guilty and strike a plea bargain with the judge if you want to try to lessen your charges, or you can plead innocent and explain the situation. For example, you may have gotten a ticket for texting and driving when you were adjusting your GPS. If this was the case, your charges may be dismissed.
Contact a Sacramento Traffic Ticket Attorney
Fighting your cell phone ticket in Sacramento can prevent points from being added to your driving record and may save you money if the charges from your cell phone ticket pile up. Our team at Crowell Law Offices will work hard to defend you in court and get you a second chance.
To speak with a Sacramento traffic ticket lawyer about your case, call 916-303-2800 or fill out the contact form below to schedule a free consultation.