Contact us to arrange a free consultation. We will explain your legal rights and provide the help you need.
powered by FormCraft
California Drugged Driving Penalties
Many people assume that a DUI applies only to driving under the influence of alcohol, but that isn’t the case. In California, you can get a DUI for driving under the influence of both alcohol and drugs. You can also get charged with a DUI if you’re driving while addicted to a drug. When charging a driver with a DUI, the state must prove that the drug impaired the driver in question.
If you’ve been charged with a DUI and you need help getting the charge reduced or dismissed, a Sacramento DUI lawyer from Crowell Law Offices can defend your case in court. Everyone has the right to legal representation and a fair trial, and it’s essential to fight your case if you want to avoid prosecution and significant penalties.
Implied Consent of a DUI
When driving on the road in California, the law states that you’re automatically giving implied consent to chemical testing of your blood or urine for drugs and alcohol if you are pulled over by the police and arrested for driving under the influence.
If you don’t agree to chemical testing or don’t complete the test, the court may fine you. The police may also put you in jail if you’re convicted of a DUI, and the DMV may suspend your license. If you’re unconscious when the police find you, consent to chemical testing is implied.
If the police ask you to complete a chemical test, you can choose between a blood or urine test; however, you may have to choose a test before your attorney is present.
DUI Penalties in California
There are various penalties for DUIs in California. For a first-time DUI offense, you may have to spend between ninety-six hours and six months in jail. You may also have to pay a fine between $390 and $1,000, complete a DUI program, and have your license suspended for six months.
For a second DUI offense that occurs within two years of the first offense, you may have to spend between ninety days and one year in jail. You may also have to pay a fine between $390 and $1,000, complete a DUI program, and have your license suspended for two years.
For a third DUI offense that occurs within ten years, the penalty is 120 days to one year in jail, a fine of $390 to $1,000, a license suspension of three years, a DUI program, and an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.
Fourth and subsequent DUI offenses within ten years will result in between 180 days and one year in jail, between $390 and $1,000 in fines, a license suspension of four years, an ignition interlock device in your vehicle, and a DUI program.
Contact a Sacramento DUI Attorney
You shouldn’t hesitate to fight your DUI if you believe you have a strong defense. If you need help creating your argument, our team at Crowell Law Offices can help. To speak with a Sacramento DUI lawyer about your case, call 916-303-2800 or fill out the contact form below to schedule a free consultation.