Contact us to arrange a free consultation. We will explain your legal rights and provide the help you need.
powered by FormCraft
What Are the Penalties for DUI in California?
One of the most important rules of the road is that you should never get behind the wheel if you are incapacitated in any way. This is especially true when it comes to driving under the influence of alcohol, otherwise known as DUI. California has some of the strictest DUI laws in the nation.
If you were recently charged with such a crime, you’re likely wondering what penalties you might face. Knowing the potential repercussions of a DUI conviction will allow you to make informed decisions about your defense, which is why the team of attorneys at Crowell Law Offices is here to shed some light on the subject.
California DUI Penalties
The penalties for DUI in California can vary, depending on several factors. Although your attorney will work tirelessly to help you avoid these charges, knowing the potential repercussions you face is crucial.
Your sentencing will largely be based on how many offenses you have had in the past. Here are some of the possible penalties you could face, based on the number of convictions you’ve had and other circumstances:
First Offense – For a first-time DUI offense, you could face up to six months in jail, $1,000 or more in fines, six months of license suspension, and a possible ignition interlock device.
Second Offense – Second offenses can land you with up to one year in jail, fines over $1,800, up to two years with a suspended license, and an ignition interlock device.
Third Offense – Third-time offenders can receive more than a year in jail, up to $18,000 in fines, up to ten years of license suspension, and an ignition interlock device.
Work with a DUI Attorney
If you were recently charged with a DUI, don’t delay getting in touch with a qualified lawyer if you want to try to reduce your sentencing. The team at Crowell Law Offices is here to help you safeguard your future.
To schedule a consultation with a California DUI lawyer, fill out the online contact form at the bottom of the page or give us a call at 916-303-2800.